Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame

Honoring the lives, work, and ongoing legacies of science fiction and fantasy's greatest creators.

2013 Inductees

  • 300x180

    H.R. Giger

    H.R. Giger’s dark yet alluring depictions of biomechanical surrealism have terrified, intrigued, and inspired a generation of viewers. His otherworldly creations and unique style have made him one of the most recognizable science fiction artists in modern popular culture. Born in Chur, Switzerland,… more

  • 300x180

    Judith Merril

    Judith Merril began her career in the 1940s, writing Western and sports stories for the pulps under a variety of exotic pen names. Her first science fiction story, “That Only a Mother” (1948), condenses the horrors of nuclear war down to one family’s struggle with genetic mutation. It immediately e… more

  • 300x180

    Joanna Russ

    Most of Joanna Russ’ work—fiction, criticism, and scholarship—form a career-long narrative that uses science fiction and fantasy to explore feminism, gender, and patriarchy. She pursued fiction writing and academia simultaneously. Her first novel, Picnic on Paradise (1968), nominated for a Nebula A… more

  • 300x180

    David Bowie

    Although Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and GRAMMY Award winner David Bowie is best known as a popular musician, significant aspects of his work have promoted science fiction and fantasy to the mainstream. His breakthrough 1969 single “Space Oddity,” which tells the story of an astronaut’s poss… more

  • 300x180

    J.R.R. Tolkien

    John Ronald Reuel Tolkien’s novels The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings became international best sellers and are often listed among the most influential works of fiction of the 20th century. Tolkien showed a keen interest in languages from a young age. By his teens he had mastered both Latin and G… more

Founded in 1996, the Hall of Fame was relocated from the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas to its permanent home at EMP in 2004. Hall of Fame nominations are submitted by EMP members. The final inductees are chosen by a panel of award-winning science fiction and fantasy authors, artists, editors, publishers, and film professionals.

Hall of fame MEMBERS

  • Brian W. Aldiss
  • Poul Anderson
  • Isaac Asimov
  • Betty Ballantine
  • Ian Ballantine
  • Alfred Bester
  • James Blish
  • Chesley Bonestell
  • David Bowie
  • Ray Bradbury
  • Edgar Rice Burroughs
  • Octavia E. Butler
  • James Cameron
  • John W. Campbell, Jr.
  • Sir Arthur C. Clarke
  • Hal Clement
  • Samuel R. Delany
  • Vincent Di Fate
  • Philip K. Dick
  • Gordon R. Dickson
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Harlan Ellison
  • Ed Emshwiller
  • Edward L. Ferman
  • Virgil Finlay
  • Frank Kelly Freas
  • Hugo Gernsback
  • William Gibson
  • Jean 'Moebius' Giraud
  • Joe Haldeman
  • Harry Harrison
  • Ray Harryhausen
  • Robert A. Heinlein
  • Frank Herbert
  • Damon Knight
  • H.R. Giger
  • Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Fritz Leiber
  • George Lucas
  • Richard Matheson
  • Anne McCaffrey
  • Judith Merril
  • Abraham Merritt
  • Michael Moorcock
  • C.L. Moore
  • Andre Norton
  • Frank R. Paul
  • Frederik Pohl
  • Richard M. Powers
  • Gene Roddenberry
  • Joanna Russ
  • Eric Frank Russell
  • Ridley Scott
  • Rod Serling
  • Mary W. Shelley
  • Robert Silverberg
  • E.E. Smith
  • Steven Spielberg
  • Theodore Sturgeon
  • James Tiptree, Jr.
  • J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Douglas Trumbull
  • Wilson Tucker
  • A. E. van Vogt
  • Jack Vance
  • Jules Verne
  • H.G. Wells
  • Michael Whelan
  • Kate Wilhelm
  • Jack Williamson
  • Connie Willis
  • Gene Wolfe
  • Donald Allen Wollheim
  • Roger Zelazny