Founders Award

An annual fundraiser to benefit EMP's youth programs, EMP's Founders Award features legendary performers who have made substantial contributions to the field of music.

  1. Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice for his work with The Yardbirds and Led Zeppelin, Jimmy Page has made a significant impact on our cultural landscape with his music. He also has shown his devotion to the craft of sound, serving as Led Zeppelin’s producer and remastering the band’s original work as audio technology has evolved over the decades. His musical experimentation and inventive style have inspired millions of aspiring creators to discover their artistic potential, making Mr. Page the perfect fit for EMP Museum’s prestigious award. 

    Photo courtesy of Claude Gassian.

  2. George Eitel (Teen Artist Workshop alumnus) and Tigerlily Cooley (2014 Youth Advisory Board member) sang and played guitar as part of EMP Museum’s all-star youth band. The band performed "Take it Easy" written by Jackson Browne and Glenn Frey at the 2014 Founders Award Celebration, an annual fundraiser benefit that supports EMP's numerous youth programs.

    Photo by Phototainment.

  3. Marc Cohn, Shawn Colvin, and Graham Nash join Jackson Browne at his 2014 Founders Award Celebration tribute performance.

    Photo by Brady Harvey.

Founders Award 2015 Honoree

Jimmy Page

The annual Founders Award Celebration is EMP Museum’s signature fundraiser, celebrating the life’s work of living legends while meaningfully contributing to the institution’s extensive education programs.

This year, EMP will honor iconic musician Jimmy Page. Together with honorary chairs Paul G. Allen and Jody Allen, we are thrilled to honor Mr. Page’s exceptional influence on music history as a groundbreaking guitarist, legendary songwriter, and visionary producer.

This unique and unforgettable evening in honor of Mr. Page is EMP’s premier benefit event to support the museum’s youth artistic development programs. The evening will open with an elegant dinner and a thrilling live auction and culminate with an unforgettable concert as star musicians take the stage to pay tribute to Jimmy Page’s musical career.

At Founders Award, EMP proudly honors the artists whose contributions to music have touched the lives of many the world over. Founders Award has played host to a remarkable group of musical superstars, including: Jackson Browne; Billy Cox; Steve Cropper; Crosby, Stills & Nash; Buddy Guy; Robbie Roberton; Carlos Santana; and Ann & Nancy Wilson.

Since its inception in 2007, the Founders Award has raised more than $2,625,000 in support of vital youth development programming.

Benefitting EMP’s Youth Programs

Education is at the heart of EMP’s mission to celebrate and encourage imaginative thinking in people of all ages. EMP’s youth programs are essential to fostering our region’s cultural vibrancy, and sparking the next generation of dreamers:

  • Sound Off! is the Northwest’s premier 21 and under battle of the bands, providing rising stars with industry mentoring opportunities and a public platform to share their music
  • Curriculum Connections Outreach partners with underserved schools to provide artist residencies and hands-on arts lessons aligned with Common Core WA standards
  • STAR (Students Training in Artistic Reach) supports music ensembles of all genres through valuable coaching in the artistic skills necessary to perform in a professional capacity
  • Teen Artist Workshops and Creativity Camps for Kids serve youth of all skill levels with courses that range from songwriting and instrumentation to music journalism and video game programming

2015 Event Committee

Michael J. Malone: Chair

James Bianco, MD; Mark Dederer; Dana Frank; Ian Kerrigan; Liz McConnell; Mike McConnell; Ed Pierson; Dena Rigby; Amy Sprangers; Irene Yamamoto


Interested in learning more about EMP's Founders Award Celebration? Contact Bri Vanderlinden, Fundraising Event Manager, at or 206-262-3244.

A special thank you to the generous sponsors and supporters of the 2015 Founders Award Celebration:

Presenting Sponsor

Official Airline

Rockin' Chef Sponsor

Icon Sponsors

Legend Sponsors

Rockstar Table Supporters

The Eitel Family

Rockstar Ticket Supporters

American Seafoods Group; Buster Brown; Ralph Cavallaro; Steven and Stephanie Crosby; Dena Rigby Fine Arts LLC; Deutsche Asset & Wealth Management; Eaton; Experience Hendrix, L.L.C.; Shalisan Foster; Beth Golder and Kerry McNeil; Charles and Cellene Graham; Great American Professional Risk Insurance; Maria Gunn; Stan and Mary Harrelson; Janie Hendrix and Ryan Jackson; Cynthia Kereluk; Clark Kokich and Lisa Strain; Christiane Laakmann; Lex Lindsey and Lynn Manley; Dot Nakama; Paul and Gayle Nordholm; Scott Pascucci, Concord Bicycle Music; Nancy Peppler, Heffner Management; Paul Renggli; Patti Savoy; Frank Schott; Greg Simmons and Jeanette Brynn; Michael and Lori Simms; Mike and Megan Slade; Don and Wendy Swanson; Valley Electric; Warner/Chappell Music; Warner Music Catalog; Zuli Lighting

In-Kind Sponsors